Collected English Oak sapling 1.5 year progress.

1.5 years ago I repotted one of the young English oaks I collected 4 years ago in a wooden growbox. It had developped a lot of fine roots in the bonsai soil I used for it.

Here’s how it looked like at the end of winter 2021.

After getting it out of the nursery container I could see an abundance of fine roots.

After trimming the bottom 2/3th of the roots this is what I had left.

The future Quercus Robur bonsai tree then got placed into a wooden growbox.

About 3 months later new shoots started to shoot from the trimmed branches and trunk. So I let it grow freely until the end of the year.

At the end of the 2021 I wired the new shoots and in spring of this year the tree was growing vigorously. Right after the next picture was taken I unwired the tree again.

english oak bonsai

This year I even got my first batch of acorns!

So today, 23rd of december 2022 I put the tree on my turntable and took off the leaves. The new growth got wired again. Notice I left a sacrifice branch, the one where I didn’t remove the leaves, that will come off at the end of next year. Until then it can help thicken the trunk a little more.

quercus robur bonsai

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.