Japanese Black Pine from seed. Repotting my Neagari JBP in a bonsai pot.

Another post from the Japanese black pine from seed project that I started in 2018.

So I was planning to repot my exposed roots style Pinus Thunberghii into a bonsai pot. I had 3 pot candidates. Not sure if I picked the right one but anyway, I picked one today 🙂

Here’s the tree after I pruned a few branches away before the repot.

The tree pots that I had to choose from where these ones:

The round one and the skull pot are pots made by Zoran Slavkovic. The natural rock looking one was made by Ginkgohatás pottery.

After combing out the roots I tried to fit the tree in all the pots.

This would be a winner if the pot was just a little bigger.

Not bad either, but the pot looks a bit too big this time.

After loosening the roots a bit more the tree fits this pot and there should be enough space for new roots to grow. For now it’s good enough.

Let’s tie the tree nice and steady in the pot and fill everything with bonsai soil making sure there are no air pockets left between the roots.

neagari japanese black pine exposed root pinus thunberghii

A little close-up of the exposed roots.

There even was a visitor that survived the repotting 🙂

Now the tree can grow freely for the first few months, maybe in june I’ll do some decandeling but that’s yet to be seen.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.