Japanese Black Pine from seed 2018 – End of year 3

End of year 3 update. I don’t think I can expect much more growth in 2020 

You can see the previous posts about this project here.

Removed the fertilizer and weeds in my pond baskets. Also applied some extra wire to lower trunks that could use some more thickening and to trunks that didn’t get wired yet.

japanese black pine from seed
2 of the contest ones
Applied some extra wire to a slimmer lower trunk

My neagari project looks like it took off, will remove the top inch of the plastic tube next year so the roots will start to show:

The front(?) side.
The other side

Got about 5 that didn’t get any wiring yet so I decided to start training them as bigger trees, I got time…

These can grow tall.

And ofcourse, a family picture:

Getting crowded…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.